News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Online At Last!

Started by Solomon Zorn, January 27, 2015, 06:15:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Solomon Zorn

I'm not new here, but I just bought a computer, which means I can carry on a running conversation for a change. So it's going to be a new experience for me on the site.

As long as I'm in the Intro section, for the sake of newcomers, I might as well do a brief bio (as is traditional for a new guy).

I'm a huge science-fiction fan. I really enjoy building sci-fi related model kits and painting them. I've been doing it for 46 of my 49 years.

Grew up with a low-key Christian mother, and an "agnostic" father. Took ater my Dad as a sci-fi fan and agnostic. Never felt any pressure to accept Christ, nevertheless, I did at the age of 16. Got into the Bible much more so than the church. I pretty much developed a truly Bible-based theology, and decided on a Bible college that claimed to "speak where the Bible speaks and be silent where the Bible is silent." Sounded right to me. They were actually pretty open minded compared to the evangelicals I deal with these days. 

I took classes there in creative writing and logic, in addition to various Bible studies (I at one point actually memorized the first 17 chapters of the New Testament book, Acts of the Apostles, which chronicles the early church.) My logic professor burst my little bubble about proving god exists through reason. So, for a while,I adopted the position that the knowledge of God is innate.

But I digress, this was supposed to be brief. In 1995 I became schizo. I saw myself come back to me through time. I started hearing voices that seem to be coming from invisible people in the room, complete with stereo perfection. It went from wonderful to scary to aggravating to miserable to suicidal to medicated to mundane.