News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

I Greet Thee

Started by Remnant of Dawn, February 27, 2013, 08:52:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Remnant of Dawn

Hello! I'm a 19-year old male, currently going to school to study computer science. I guess I've been an atheist since 8th grade or so, though I denied it even to myself until a year or two later. I still haven't told anyone except a few of my closest friends, although I plan on telling my parents as soon as I can (as soon as I'm done college and they can't refuse to pay my tuition anymore, heh). I'm not quite sure how they'll react, but I hope they'll be understanding.

I know I'm only a freshman, but I'm hoping I'll be able to get a PhD in some field related to artificial intelligence after I graduate. I'm just so intrigued by the idea of replicating the human consciousness in a machine, and I would love to be able to spend my life furthering the pursuit of this knowledge. I'm fairly quiet and have mild social anxiety though, so I hope I'll be able to overcome this.

As for this site, I joined a while back, but this was on my PSP in high school, so I only lurked for the most part--I couldn't risk viewing this site on the computer and having my secret revealed to my parents. Now I can browse and post as I please, though, and I finally got around to coming back and introducing myself (schoolwork's been tough, first semester was a bit of a culture shock after gliding through high school).

I look forward to discussing and debating with you all in the future. (I imagine they'll be a good bit of debating, as although I'm an atheist, I tend to take the conservative view on a good many points, and as I recall this place was pretty liberal on the whole).

It's great to have somewhere I can talk freely, vent, and hopefully learn something new about my own beliefs and opinions. Can't wait to meet you all!

And yes, I misspelled my username. I'm sure you'll be able to deal with it. (as I said, I signed up on a PSP).