News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Keeping Deer from Eating Shrubs

Started by SGOS, February 20, 2014, 10:25:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SGOS

I've been cultivating arborvitae around my porch for about 3 years.  They haven't been doing great, but I have poor soil.  Still, year by year, they were progressing. This year they were attacked by deer, and they did what was definitely more than a helpful pruning job.  Maybe the shrubs "came of age" or maybe it was because a large tract of land was clear cut right next to me last winter.

I found something at amazon.com that was given good reviews and seemed hassle free: LED Predator Control Lights.  These are solar powered and emit a double flashing red light that lasts all night.  All the reviews I read were about keeping foxes and raccoons away from the chicken house, and people claimed they worked.  When I got the lights, the directions spoke to the intelligence of deer  (which the lights are advertised to repel).  But the directions suggested that they be moved around from time to time or the deer would get used to them.  Of course this would make my hassle free $40 investment kind of pointless, but I installed them around the shrubs.  The next morning  there were fresh deer tracks in the snow around the arborvitae.  Also after the next three nights as well.

Next I bought plastic netting from Walmart.  I just finished covering the shrubs, but the stuff is horrible to work with.  It gets caught on itself and is almost invisible against the plants.  While I got the job done, I would describe the process as "fumbling around in the dark", although it was late morning.  I don't look forward to doing it again next year.  Fact is, I hated working with it, and of course I have no  idea if it will work.  Much of the shrubbery  finds its way through the netting and is exposed.  I don't mind a little nibbling, but I don't know how easily the deer will give up.