News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

The Republican War On Science

Started by stromboli, October 03, 2015, 03:15:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stromboli

http://www.salon.com/2015/10/03/secrets_of_the_gop_science_war_how_spin_masters_and_pundits_confuse_conservatives_about_facts/

QuoteWhen scientists announced the discovery of water on Mars recently, Rush Limbaugh drew the obvious conclusion: It was all part of a conspiratorial plot:

LIMBAUGH: If there was once all that water on Mars, and there is a lot of water here on earth, what’s going to happen to our ocean? How did the water vanish?

My point is, they’re presenting all this stuff to you as fact just like they’re presenting everything involving global warming as scientific fact. It`s nothing but wild guesses. It’s nothing but based on computer models which is the result of data input that who knows if it’s legit or not.

That’s to be expected from Limbaugh, I suppose. If you’re a huckster by trade, the truth is your enemyâ€"and not just the truth, but the very possibility of truth. The very existence of science is a threat to you. So naturally, if you’ve got as much time to fill as Limbaugh does, you engage in war on science. But the real problem isn’t Rush Limbaugh, it’s the way that the entirety of the GOP adapts to him in various different waysâ€"especially those who are deemed “sensible” in the world of bipartisan consensus, whose job it is to make plausible excuses for their sorry party.