Why I Think Religion will Be Around for A Long Time

Started by stromboli, February 20, 2015, 09:35:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stromboli

Left the LDS church 23 years ago. Before and after I studied religion as a whole, everything from the history of Christianity to Hindusim and Buddhism. I am a natural student, always curious and always learning about things that interest me. One thing I figured out is that religion has staying power. Consider the fact that Hinduism and Buddhism both predate Christianity and Islam by centuries and are still very much with us. Islam, which from the outside seems an idiotic religion, is growing. ISIS is able to attract followers and remain dangerous even when being opposed by several governments. It is alive because it also attracts a lot of sympathetic followers; including behind the scenes from some governments.

Hinduism as a religion has an enormous cultural tradition that is historically rich; the 4 books that make up the Mahabharata, including Rig Veda and the Bhagavad Gita numbers well over 30,000 pages and parts of it, the Rig Veda, was originally written in Sanskrit. That is how old it is. Buddhism predated Christianity by a few centuries and was well established long before inroads from Islam and Christianity, and for many reasons is still relevant today.

Christianity today is nothing like the religion of the 3rd century or even a century ago. Christmas was viewed as a pagan holiday by our early churches in both England and this country. But because the holiday was so popular, Christians threw a manger scene into all the pagan ritual and made it Jesus' birthday. In short, morphed to stay relevant in modern times.