News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Hello!

Started by Ksa, December 11, 2013, 09:21:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ksa

Hey,

I'm Dan, atheist, chemist/chemical engineer by profession and a free-time student of comparative religions. I am wondering if this site allows religious debates involving quotations of Chapter Number/Verse Number and context explanations. I believe that atheists have trouble communicating with religious fundamentalists because the religious fundamentalists only obey their scripture literally.

Since I know most of the Bible/Qur'an/Weda/Tora/Upanishads etc. by heart, I can prove to religious fundamentalists, from their own scripture, that it's not the word of God, so that they may cease to believe and also become atheists.

Thank you,

Dan

Plu

You're free to try, but the problem with communicating with the religious folk who come here is that they don't listen to anything anyway.

Welcome aboard.

stromboli

Welcome. Like Plu said, you are dealing with individuals not accepting of new ideas. Its kind of hard to argue on the merits of a belief when they have no merits.

Mister Agenda

Howdy, Dan. It's always nice to get a scientist in these parts. I'm not sure any of our current theists would be up for a debate like that. The other Atheist Forums (.org) might be a place to try. We're actualy low on Christian fundamentalists here right at the moment.
Atheists are not anti-Christian. They are anti-stupid.--WitchSabrina

Ksa

mykcob4

Quote from: "Ksa"Hey,

I'm Dan, atheist, chemist/chemical engineer by profession and a free-time student of comparative religions. I am wondering if this site allows religious debates involving quotations of Chapter Number/Verse Number and context explanations. I believe that atheists have trouble communicating with religious fundamentalists because the religious fundamentalists only obey their scripture literally.