News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Veteran's Day

Started by stromboli, November 10, 2013, 10:08:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stromboli

I am a veteran. I have a ball cap with the name of one of the ships I served aboard that was given to me many years ago. I don't wear it very often, because I think of it as a keepsake, rather than an item of apparel. Yesterday I took it out of the closet and wore it while shopping. Because I live in an area not far from a military base with a lot of retired Air Force and Army people around, a Navy hat is a bit unique. Many vehicles have "retired Army" or Air Force bumper stickers and window decals. I went home and took the hat off and put it back in the closet. I may never wear it again. It seemed like a silly exercise in vanity to me.

I actually felt stupid wearing it, like I was calling attention to myself. Veteran's Day to me is like, ok, let's note their service or whatever, but it seems there is too much hype over it to me. A high percentage of our populace has served; growing up in the country and in poor conditions, the military was an automatic way to get out of that and pay for an education. I think it still is today.

The other thing that's ludicrous to me is the Veteran's Day movie marathons. Almost invariably one of the movies will be Full Metal Jacket, which is about as antiwar as it gets, and The Green Berets, a ridiculous John Wayne vehicle that was stunningly inaccurate and pointlessly patriotic nonsense. I've seen Hollywood actors storming the beach at Normandy to the point that it is just silly. I don't agree with anything that glorifies war anymore.

I really don't know. After dealing with a son who suffered PTSD when returning from Iraq and then Afghanistan, people who in some way glorify military service don't recognize the cost, certainly.