News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Hello!

Started by GSOgymrat, July 11, 2013, 08:37:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GSOgymrat

Hello from Greensboro, North Carolina! I attended a Methodist church as a child but my family was never very religious, in fact all of the men in my family are atheist. I identify as a Humanist because it most accurately describes my values. As far being an atheist, I'm afraid I'm pretty soft because my atheism stems from lack of knowledge rather than reasoned certainty. I have no knowledge of any external entity influencing humanity, no knowledge of consciousness after death, no knowledge of any intelligent life outside this planet. I don't have the answers to "life, the universe and everything" but I think the best way to explore those questions through science and rational thought. Obviously many other people find that strategy unsatisfying but it works for me. I have no problem with people who have religious beliefs, and appreciate anyone who is trying to explore their values and the world around them, but I do believe the best way for everyone to have the freedom to explore their personal beliefs is in a secular society.

Plu

Welcome aboard :) Sounds like a good base rule to live by.

Brian37

Same state here,  just down at the bottom next to the SC boarder on the coast.

Be sure to barbecue kittens, record the NFL without their permission and rip the tags off of your mattress.
"We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus -- and nonbelievers." Obama
Poetry By Brian37 Like my poetry on Facebook Under BrianJames Rational Poet and also at twitter under Brianrrs37

Brian37

Oh and I would not recommend you be an uneducated atheist who simply says "that doesn't make sense".

I've been online since 01 and learned lots of terms, lots of theist arguments and refutations of such, read lots of books like Hitchens and Dawkins and Harris.