News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Career, what is it?

Started by randomvim, September 26, 2016, 01:14:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

randomvim

if you have a career. what is it to you? how have you come to decide what to do or what you should do?

if you do not have a career, what do you say a career is?
how do you set goals for a career or for your path in having a job and maintening life?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Draconic Aiur

I have an associates in culinary arts thats going no where.

kilodelta

I'm not too sure about the intent of the questions. But, here's some sort of answer.

I'm a defense analyst. I have worked in capabilities development, doctrine, training, policy, and materiel development. What is it to me? Hmmm... it's a means to continue to work on multiple linked projects and see real world impacts from that work. I decided to go into and stay in the career field because I have an aptitude for it, it's interesting, pays well, and I get to stay within a relatively small community.

As far as setting goals, that comes from observation of what's going on around me and what interests me. Many goals are actually required for the job. e.g. certifications, education, and training. Other goals I set for myself are establishing and completing large projects. The completion of those projects become a resume item in case I want to get another job. There are clear areas that I have no interest in such as operating DoD financial systems. I'd rather perform the analysis on what needs to be purchased rather than executing the funds.

Really, I think my career has been shaped by my work environment and the decisions that I make in response. Jumping out of my career field now would probably require me to almost entirely start over. I think if I didn't like it, I would have known within the first two years.
Faith: pretending to know things you don't know

SGOS